Captivated By You (Crossfire #4) by Sylvia Day

17876893Published November 18th 2014 by Berkley

Reviewed In Series Bared To You | Reflected In You | Entwined With You

Adult, Erotic-Romance, BDSM, Contemporary

Purchased Kindle Book

My Rating 4 Stars

Goodreads | Amazon

Gideon calls me his angel, but he’s the miracle in my life. My gorgeous, wounded warrior, so determined to slay my demons while refusing to face his own.

The vows we’d exchanged should have bound us tighter than blood and flesh. Instead they opened old wounds, exposed pain and insecurities, and lured bitter enemies out of the shadows. I felt him slipping from my grasp, my greatest fears becoming my reality, my love tested in ways I wasn’t sure I was strong enough to bear.

At the brightest time in our lives, the darkness of his past encroached and threatened everything we’d worked so hard for. We faced a terrible choice: the familiar safety of the lives we’d had before each other or the fight for a future that suddenly seemed an impossible and hopeless dream…


REVIEW I’m not entirely happy about this installment, but I love this couple so much that I’m going to hope for the best. I only wish that the author would wrap this up already. I’ve never been so obsessed with characters and wish that the series would end. Until now. It’s usually the opposite. There’s just too much going down with Gideon, and Eva by association, that I can’t wait for them to have a happily ever after. There was a point in this book that I actually cried for Gideon. God, that scene broke my heart. As Chris and Angus said, Eva is good for Gideon. I’m glad it’s all coming out. I love the fact that he’s spending time with Ireland. That was just so cute. His mom is stupid. If I don’t get anymore interaction with her for the rest of this series, I’d be happy. She disgusts me. And why hide it from her husband? Is it possible that she and Dr. Lucas were having an affair? LOL! It’s just been on my mind since that scene with Chris and Gideon.

This book is filled with some serious angst, and a step further into BDSM territory. I love it when Gideon and Eva are together and happy. The way that they depend on each other to get through is suffocating at times. You have to read these books to see that it’s not entirely okay, but at least by the end of this installment they try harder. The love is still there, whether Gideon messes up or not. He does the right thing, but goes about it the wrong way. Never discussing things with Eva that pertains to her life. I have to remind myself that this man has never been in a relationship before, aside from Corrine. So, of course I can forgive his mess-ups. I’m very happy with them right now, I just hope it all stays that way with the next book. I’m not even discussing Cary’s situation. I knew that something stupid would happen. Poor Trey, he just can’t win for losing. I’m sorry, but Cary is asking for too much in this. He can’t expect to keep Trey after that bombshell. I just don’t think it’s fair. Trey should be with a partner that will love him and only him. Cary needs help that I’m afraid Eva can’t give him. She needs to focus on her own life. I understand the issues surrounding their friendship, but Cary can’t expect Eva to navigate him through life. He throws a tantrum whenever he doesn’t get her undivided attention. This is all just some messed up BS.

Scorned women are coming out like cockroaches; and they’re all aimed at Gideon and Eva. He wears his heart on his sleeve for the world to see, and everybody wants to destroy his happiness. They know the way to get to him is through Eva, and he’s trying his best to protect her. I think that Eva needs to be careful, and watch her surroundings. Mostly, people that she interacts with on a daily basis. Because I have a strange feeling that the son of the man responsible for Gideon’s torment is staring them right in the face. Why else bring up that little info? Eva needs to help Gideon in his vigilance, not get mad about it. I think she’s going to use those Krav Maga skills sooner rather than later. I just feel it coming. All of it is too much. Christopher, Anne, Corinne, Brett…… who knows who else will try to break this couple. The detective is creepy. She keeps dropping hints and popping up, I’m scared. What will it all boil down to with her? And Clancy? He’s just as creepy.

I just don’t think I can handle any more negativity aimed at Gideon and Eva. If that is how this will keep going, count me out. That’s just a deal breaker for me, when the author feels like she can torture us. And we are all hooked on Gideon like crack, so it’s next to impossible to not read the rest of the books. Darn you!! Still, I love Gideva and I want them finally settled and happy. If you are into some serious angst, out-of-this-world sex, and not afraid to read about some heavy subjects, then this is definitely the series for you. You may want to throw your ereader or paperback across the room sometimes, but you will be too hooked to not read on. I was hooked from the first moment Gideon Cross came into the picture, and have been messed up ever since. Highly recommended!

reviewstars4of5

11 thoughts on “Captivated By You (Crossfire #4) by Sylvia Day

  1. I’ve been putting off this particular book. I’m not sure why. I think maybe it’s because I feel like it should have been a trilogy and not a drawn out five book story. Maybe once the final book comes out, I’ll pick it up from my Kindle library. Also congrats on hitting your 2015 Goodreads challenge!

    Like

    • I think it was going to be a trilogy, but then it got picked up by Lionsgate for a TV slot. That, in itself, calls for more drama. I just hope book 5 is the last one, with an epilogue.

      Like

    • I just wish the torture would end for them. No one is really happy for them except his sister, Eva’s mother, and his step dad. His bodyguard/driver too, I almost forgot about him. I just hope it all ends soon.

      Like

    • Exactly. I just need it to all wrap up. Do you know if the next book will be the last? I have read that there may be 2 more. I don’t know what to believe. I know that a lot of readers are fed up with the constant blows (as am I), so maybe she should take that into consideration while torturing us. But God, I can’t get enough of Gideon. I just want him to be free from the torment.

      Like

  2. This sounds just like the book for me girl! And you say this book is a series, right?? I’m all about pain and suffering in a relationship AS LONG AS the couples have a happily ever after because I want to feel that I’ve invested my time in something worthwhile in the end. 🙂

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

