The Martian by Andy Weir

18007564Published February 11th 2014 by Crown

Adult-Fiction, Science-Fiction, Adventure, Thriller, Suspense

Purchased Kindle Book

My Rating 5 Stars

Goodreads | Amazon | B & N | Book Depo

Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars. Now, he’s sure he’ll be the first person to die there. After a dust storm nearly kills him & forces his crew to evacuate while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded & completely alone with no way to even signal Earth that he’s alive—& even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone long before a rescue could arrive. Chances are, though, he won’t have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment or plain-old “human error” are much more likely to kill him first. But Mark isn’t ready to give up yet. Drawing on his ingenuity, his engineering skills—& a relentless, dogged refusal to quit—he steadfastly confronts one seemingly insurmountable obstacle after the next. Will his resourcefulness be enough to overcome the impossible odds against him?


MY THOUGHTS You want a book that will make you laugh out loud? Cheer? Be on the edge of your seat? This is that book! I couldn’t stop reading it, even when I needed sleep. And as much as I found the aspects pertaining to physics to be way out of my league, I couldn’t just skim over it. Every part was critical to my understanding of the situation. The odds were stacked against this martian at every turn. I was praying that Mr. Weir didn’t have me regret reading this book. I’m happy to note that it was so worth every chemistry, physics, botany, engineering, etc…. lesson that I got from this. I can’t say if it all was some hocus-pocus on the science parts, because I was just too engrossed to give a s**t.

Mark Watney and crew encounter a dust storm on their Mars mission. Long story short, Mark ends up impaled, carried away from crew mates, thought to be dead, and left on Mars. But, Mark is not dead. Yet. He has to survive until Ares 4. That won’t happen for years. What is he to do? Well, the brilliant man that he is figures it out as the Sols go on. And man, the things he does will gross you out! I happened to be eating a muffin and drinking coffee in the break room at work, when I got to a scene where he just gets down and dirty. You don’t want me to tell you that part. READ THE BOOK! Well, I choked on my muffin and I sipped some coffee to ease the pain in my throat, only to have it go down wrong. The cleaning lady looked at me like I had three heads when I started laughing at myself. I just couldn’t get enough of Mark from that point on. As soon as I got home, I dove in again. This book brought back memories of my Chem class in high school. Ahh, the things we did just to get reactions. Lots of hydrogen and oxygen talk, so get ready for a lesson. This is geek heaven, plain and simple. I was on the edge of my seat and just hoping everything came out alright. I won’t spoil this but I really do wish that the ending was different. Or longer, maybe? Still, I loved the whole book and I can now say, without a doubt, that I have no desire to be an astronaut. Just, no.

Don’t think that just because we have a lone man stuck on Mars, that he’s the only character. There are countless other brilliant characters in this story. Did you know that geeks are sarcastic? Yeah, there are some smart a**es here, and I don’t mean intellectually – although they are that too. I loved how they pulled together and tried their best to get Mark off Mars – once they figured out that he was alive of course. Mark, himself, is just the best. His humor was much needed for me. I don’t think that I would have liked this as much, if it weren’t for his sense of humor in a messed up situation. Me? I would have taken the easy way out with all that medicine. The man is brilliant. He grew freaking potatoes on Mars! He made water using his chemistry knowledge. He drove that “ghetto” MAV around Mars like a boss. I am so pumped to see the movie now. It’s official. I will be at the Thursday night showing, if I have to sell my kidney for a ticket. I just hope that everything I loved about this is brought to the big screen. The humor, science, suspense – I want it all. Highly recommend this book!!

reviewstars5of5

11 thoughts on “The Martian by Andy Weir

  1. Everyone seems to love this book like crazy! I do want to try it now, and have it on my TBR. I was very hesitant to have it there because the last movie I watched where someone is stranded in space was Gravity and well, I really didn’t like that movie. So when I first saw people loving this I was wary. But it sounds completely different and I trust your judgment so I am going to try it out!

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

