The Opportunist (Love Me With Lies #1) by Tarryn Fisher

13312527Published November 14th 2011 by Tarryn Fisher

New-Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Drama

Purchased Kindle Book

My Rating 3.5 Stars

Find It On Goodreads | Amazon

Olivia Kaspen has just discovered that her ex-boyfriend, Caleb Drake, has lost his memory. With an already lousy reputation for taking advantage of situations, Olivia must decide how far she is willing to go to get Caleb back. Wrestling to keep her true identity and their sordid past under wraps, Olivia’s greatest obstacle is Caleb’s wicked, new girlfriend; Leah Smith. It is a race to the finish as these two vipers engage in a vicious tug of war to possess a man who no longer remembers them. But, soon enough Olivia must face the consequences of her lies, and in the process discover that sometimes love falls short of redemption.


REVIEW First thing I said after finishing this book was “Wow!”. Hold on, hold on. Yes, I had a wow moment, but I still found this one a little lacking. With a plot like this, there is no telling where it will lead; so I have to immediately read the next book. By the time this review publishes, I’ll probably have finished it and started on book three. I liked this book. Okay, I more than liked it. The characters? Not so much.

Let’s start with Olivia. Girl’s got issues man. She reminds me of one of those crazy women on Snapped, only she isn’t a killer – just crazy. Crazy intelligent, but has issues with love & trust. I rather like her, but she got on my nerves. Everyone has trust issues. Olivia has trust/abandonment issues, not good when you have a good thing in front of you and you keep pushing it away.

Caleb is my favorite character. He may be a manwhore, but he’s a chivalrous one. And I don’t think that what Olivia walked in on was that big a deal. If there was some actual cheating, then I could be mad at him. He’s a guy. Get over it. But, the fact the he walks back into her life- apparently an amnesiac- and the chemistry is still there, gave me thrills. Those two could set a room on fire. Have I mentioned that I love British guys? Because I do, and Caleb is now MINE!

Leah is the rebound girl, post Olivia and pre-amnesia. She is just as vindictive as Olivia when it comes to Caleb Drake. Both girls are obsessed with him, and Leah is not about to have the girl who can cause her downfall, to get him. She figures out that Olivia is the girl he can’t get over, and that she’s using his amnesia to her advantage. Let the games begin.

I can’t say anything that would for sure be a spoiler, but there are plenty of twists in this little game. I hate Leah, the redheaded viper. Girl is more messed up than any character I’ve ever read about. Her issues go beyond trying to trap a man. Somethings definitely not right there. I love Olivia’s BFF, Cammie. I actually didn’t like the fact that Olivia acted a certain way to get a man. She’s a freaking nerd okay. That’s what attracted Caleb in the first place. The aura that radiated around her said, “I’m smart, resourceful, and will break many hearts. Don’t mess with me.”  The man blew an important game for her, she should have known that he would possess her. This story is quite twisted, so be prepared. I liked it enough, but wanted more. Still, I’m on to the next book now. Let’s see if I can really become a true fan of Fisher. Recommended!

3-5-stars

8 thoughts on “The Opportunist (Love Me With Lies #1) by Tarryn Fisher

  1. Gasp! Okay, I’m sold! I’ve been hearing great things about this book, but your review is the “it” for me, like seriously. Like I didn’t like the people in GOne Girl and Luckiest Girl Alive, they’re horrible, but the plot. The plot! Okay, bumping this one up!!

    Like

  2. I have seen the cover of this one but I had never really seen a review for it. And the main character shares my name! Although she does seem to be quite different from me when it comes to her character 😉 This one seems a lot of focus on the romance and the love triangle and for some reason when I first saw the cover I wasn’t expecting that at all.

    Like

    • It is the most crazy love triangle. This isn’t like the normal cliche’ ones, this is some crazy type stuff. There are so many twists and turns! I am on the last book now & I just typed my review for the second book, so look out for it tomorrow.

      Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

