If You Wrong Us by Dawn Klehr

24894083Publication: October 1st 2015 by: Flux

Genres: Young-Adult, Psychological-Thriller

e-ARC provided by publisher via Netgalley

My Rating: 2.5 Stars

Find It: Goodreads | Amazon

Becca and Johnny become entangled after a car crash steals the lives of two people they love. Officially, the crash is an accident. But Becca and Johnny are convinced: someone did this.As they plot revenge against the person responsible, a bond—intense, unyielding, and manic—takes hold of them. And in an unexpected turn of events, they fall for each other.

Or so they think.

In an upside-down world where decay is beautiful and love and hate become one, Becca and Johnny find themselves grappling with reality. Nothing is exactly what it seems, including what they’ve come to believe about the crash. Question is: will they learn the truth before it’s too late?

No. The question is: when they learn the truth, will they care?


MY THOUGHTS A quick read that wasn’t as thrilling as I thought it’d be. For the life of me, I couldn’t stop rolling my eyes at the ridiculousness of the situation. The characters all seemed to just float through the story. Their plan seemed so superficial to me. Like, it was all based on a lie. A lie that was just downright phony. You can’t trust one of the narrators. I found that out about half way through. I found this to be a tad bit disturbing for a YA audience. I’ll make this short and sweet.

Becca lost her twin sister. Johnny lost his mother. They were both killed in the same accident. Becca and Johnny are lovers. Coincidence? No. Becca played Johnny for a sucker. Why? Because she wanted revenge for her sister’s death, and she knew that Johnny would feel the same because he lost his mom too. The unsuspecting person who supposedly caused the accident is plotted against and he will not see it coming. However, Johnny boy begins to doubt all of their plans. Becca goes all psycho. There’s a twist at the end that I saw coming. Becca was just too erratic in her need for revenge, that you actually see that something is wrong from the very start.

This story could have been amazing, if it were written differently. It felt rushed and some of the scenes didn’t make a lick of sense to me. I have a sweet spot for mentally ill characters. I just don’t think that Becca fits that mold. The girl is just too manipulative. She’s like Amy Dunne from Gone Girl.  Kirkus Reviews wasn’t telling a lie about that. Yeah, totally certifiable. There seems to be details that are missing to make this truly thrilling. I didn’t really care for the characters or their motives. I’m not sure on the recommendation front. If you want to read something to pass the time, go for it. You’ll be rolling your eyes, but at least it’s a quick read.

2-5star

10 thoughts on “If You Wrong Us by Dawn Klehr

  1. I hadn’t heard of this one before but I had to read your review after seeing the cover and I’m so disappointed! This book sounds like it could super creepy and amazing, but I guess it doesn’t play out that way? Physiological books can be so hard to pull off, especially in YA, I feel. Plot is almost always lacking to make it creepier but it ends up the opposite, in my limited opinion. Still, I’m sorry this one didn’t live up to all your expectations. I might pick it up just for fun but I’d rather not waste money on it.

    Great review!

    Like

  2. I don’t really like too many Young Adult ” psychological thrillers. ” I honestly can’t think of one that was actually a hit for me. (I may have to check goodreads) After reading the synopsis, I’m thinking, okay the premise is very common, but maybe it’ll be a complete mind fuck, because HELLO, that’s what psych thrillers are supposed to be, but nope, nope. I’m not going anywhere near this title. It sucks because it sounded decent!

    Like

  3. I’m sorry this one was such a disappointing read for you! I hate when that ends up happening. But it seems like the way this one was written was what really ruined it this time, and that the story did have some glimmer of potential even though the characters and the plan seemed superficial. Hope the next read is a better x

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

