The One by Kiera Cass

18635016Published: May 6th 2014 By: HarperTeen

Series Reviews: The Selection & The Elite

Genres: Young-Adult, Dystopia, Romance

Library Borrow: Kindle Book My Rating: 3.5 Stars

Find It: Goodreads | Amazon

The time has come for one winner to be crowned.

When she was chosen to compete in the Selection, America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the end of the competition approaches, and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.


REVIEW I was enjoying this book, but by the time I got to the end I didn’t understand what happened. All I know is, things went from good to great to bad to worse and back to great at the end. I’m beginning to think that Kiera sat down with George R.R. Martin and he told her, “let’s kill all of your readers’ favorite characters”. I feel so betrayed right now. I was really hoping to 5 star this one, but the last quarter of this book was rushed and there wasn’t enough time for me to comprehend all the madness.

America, in this installment, is quite brave at times, but then she makes me doubt her character. She took the King’s antagonism like a champ. I loved that she didn’t break down in front of him, but rather waited until she was alone in her room to let it out. It seemed that everything was going fine, and then BOOM! Something tragic happens, and everything gets put on hold. America learns a lot about the rebels and what they want. She is ready to embrace the possibility of wearing that crown and being with Maxon. Quite a few things are revealed about those closest to her, and she can’t believe it. It all makes since to me now; the things that happened in the last book.

I’m glad that Aspen was there for her as her best friend and not her ex. But, it didn’t matter once Maxon sees them together. This is where everything turned bad. I think that if that had happened in the beginning of the book, Maxon’s actions towards the situation would have been more realistic. It was all crammed in there at the end and it was a mess. He went from 0 to 100, real quick (please excuse my musical references). It was just dumb, the way he was acting at the end. Kriss and her secrets were revealed, which shocked the heck out of me. And here I was, cheering for her in the last book. Celeste was like a whole different person in this book. Like, I almost liked her. Why? Why make us hate a character for 2 books, and then let us like her, only for it all to be a waste?

I want to rant about all the character deaths, but I’ll not spoil this for those who have yet to read it. Just….brace yourself. The first half of this book was great. So great, that I was certain it would end on a happy note. It did, in a messed up sort of way. It was too rushed from the middle to the end. I wanted it to be more spaced out, and the characters’ actions were stifling. This book read like two different people wrote it, to me. I’m not sure if I’ll continue on with the series, since the next book is about Maxon’s and The One’s child. I’ll just stop here for now. Recommend? Yes, it’s not a bad series – well, just the 3 that I’ve read. If I had to give them all a final grade, it’d be a B-.

3-5-stars

6 thoughts on “The One by Kiera Cass

  1. I love Game of Thrones, but the worst trend GRRM started is the idea that to be “edgy and shocking” you have to kill off your characters left and right. I’m sorry this book disappointed you after a strong series start, if I were you I would want to rant too 😦

    Like

  2. It seems like there are a lot of ups and downs in this book and it did make for an interesting series… and like the stakes are pretty high in this one. Although I don’t really like the sound of the rushed ending that you felt here… I suppose it can happen though! Hope the next is better.

    Like

    • Yes, lots of ups and downs with this one. I was really hoping to love this one the most, but when you start killing characters and rushing scenes, that takes away my focus. Overall, I’d give the 3 books a B-. I’m not even going to try and read book 4.

      Liked by 1 person

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

