Miracle at the Higher Grounds Cafe by Max Lucado

22503252Published: February 1st 2015 By: Thomas Nelson

Genres: Christian-Fiction, Contemporary, Inspirational

Format: Paperback Source: Publisher My Rating: 3.5 Stars

Goodreads || Amazon || Barnes & Noble

What if you could ask God anything? What would you ask? And how would He answer?

Chelsea Chambers is on her own. After a public split from her NFL superstar husband, Chelsea takes a bold step out of the limelight and behind the counter of the Higher Grounds Cafe, an old-fashioned coffee shop in dire need of reinvention. But when her courage, expert planning, and out-of-this-world cupcakes fail to pay the bills, this newly single mom finds herself desperate for help. Better yet, a miracle.

Then a curious stranger lands at Chelsea s door, and with him, an even more curious string of events. Soon, customers are flocking to the Higher Grounds Cafe, and not just for the cupcakes and cappuccino. They ve come for the internet connection to the divine. Now the cafe has become the go-to place for people in search of answers to life s biggest questions.

When a catastrophe strikes and her ex comes calling, Chelsea begins to wonder if the whole universe is conspiring against her quest to make it on her own. After a shocking discovery opens her eyes to the unseen world around her, Chelsea finds the courage to ask God a question of her own. Heaven answers in a most unexpected way.”


MY THOUGHTS What if you could go sit down in Starbucks, or your favorite coffee shop, and talk to God on your laptop, cellphone or tablet? What would you ask him? Mind you, you only get one question, so make it good. I needed some inspiration so I decided to go ahead and crack this book open. I loved reading this one, but by the end I was kind of conflicted. I’m not married, nor have I ever been married. I’ve known, or been around lots of people who are divorced. Some have a great friendship, others want to kill each other. To each their own. This story, however, inspires that if you pray and devote your life to God, then you can reconcile with your husband/wife and live happily ever after. It’s about forgiving the person/people who have wronged you, and pray to God that everything will be alright. Ask for help. That’s all God wants.

Now, I am not a sinister person. Granted, I’m not a perfect angel either. Up until 5 years ago, my faith was unwavering. Before the death of the 3 most important people in my life, there were no questions about anything. After? I began to question God and everything. Still, I prayed on and it seems that nothing lets up. Is it because I’m not fully devoted? What? That’s what I ask myself everyday. This book is about being faithful to God and if you pray to him, then things will work out. Not necessarily the way You imagine it, but the way God sees fit. Okay, I was totally feeling inspired and my mood changed a little. Then, everything became apparent to me. This book is preachy. Yes, preachy. I know that with inspirational pieces there is always some self-righteous advice behind it. I’m not being mean at all. But, you can’t say that if all the divorced couples of the world would have been forgiving and faithful and pray, that their marriages would not have ended. This is the message here. What if the husband was abusive? Everyone is different. Divorce or stay married? As our main character was headed in that direction, it all turned around.

I loved Chelsea’s character in the beginning. She was a determined woman ready to support herself and her kids. She was reeling from the separation from her NFL husband, but determined to not let that knock her off course. He cheated and blew up all of their money on bad investments and Chelsea has had enough. At the start, I thought that this inspiration would come from Chelsea’s strength to be a single mother with two kids and trying to run a business, while getting hassled by the IRS. No, this is about marriage/divorce, and had I known, I wouldn’t have picked it up. Clearly, I’m the wrong demographic for this book and therein lies the problem. So, if you are married or divorced, then this book is for you. I enjoyed the characters, especially Manny (guardian angel in disguise). I loved the cafe and all the coffee talk. All the baked goods made me salivate just from their names! I loved some of the inspirational messages, but as a whole – I don’t think it’s that simple. Call me a pessimist, but there are some battles that require a strong backbone and legs. Recommended.

3-5-stars

4 thoughts on “Miracle at the Higher Grounds Cafe by Max Lucado

  1. I love the sound of this! And I think we all could use a wake up call every now and then because I too have had my days of wavering faith. ♡ but if it gets too preachy, it could be a turn off definitely. But either way, all the talk of coffee and mmmm pastries, mmmm o.m.g. *Salivates* either eay though girl, I’m glad you liked it boo!♡

    Like

    • It’s a great read, I just don’t like how the ending went. Sure, couples need to talk things through before a decision on divorce should be made, but I can’t get over how you can trust someone again who cheated on you. Yes, you can forgive them and move on. The way the situation is in this book, everyone around her was telling her to give it all to God and he will mend it. If only it were that simple, a lot of couples would still be married.

      Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

