Not That Easy by Radhika Sanghani

24611932Publication: November 3rd 2015 By: Berkley

Genres: New-Adult, Chick-lit, Romance, Humor

Also Reviewed: Virgin My Rating: 3.5 Stars

Format: eARC Source: Publisher via Netgalley

ADD TO GOODREADS  

“Even Bridget Jones’s Diary could take a page from this novel.”—Joan Rivers (on VIRGIN).
Ellie used to be a virgin, but now she’s a woman with sexual experience. Well, some sexual experience. She also has debt, an unpaid magazine internship, and three flatmates who left her with the single room to match her single status.
That’s okay. She doesn’t want a boyfriend anyway—she wants several. And if the sex is exciting enough, her ruthless magazine editor boss can exploit her dating life for a column.
After countless hook-ups, a disastrously fiery encounter with some heat lube, and one orgasm class, Ellie is faced with the sad reality of her sexual ineptitude. But when she starts to witness the emotional wreckage she’s leaving in her wake, Ellie realizes that sex can be hard, and there’s a down side to giving it up too easy.

REVIEW

Sequel to Virgin, but not quite as great. I like this book, but too many things irked me to where I couldn’t properly enjoy it. It is, however, hilariously funny. I laughed so much while reading this, and I may have shaken my head a million times at the main character, Ellie.

In Virgin, Ellie’s mission was to lose her virginity by any means necessary. She accomplished that goal, but went through many failed attempts and grooming mishaps along the way. After contracting an STD from the devirginizer, she has kind of taken a step back. Not That Easy is Ellie trying to figure out her place among society as a twenty-two years old woman. She has the perfect internship at London’s most popular magazine. She’s not getting paid right now, so she’s solely relying on her mother for rent money and food. She has her best girlfriends to unleash all of her worries onto. And she’s crushing on her flatmate Ollie, but he has a girlfriend and she just admires the view. What she doesn’t have is a sex life. She wants to have one night stands and have friends-with-benefits, so that she can have something to add to all the girl talk. She joins an online dating site, and gets more than the ONS she was seeking. A boyfriend. But, they never confirmed an exclusive relationship, so when Ellie does something to break that thing that they have, she doesn’t know how to handle it. Or does she?

First off, Ellie is THE most awkward character that I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading about. I loved her in Virgin because she was this real girl who wanted to have sex, but was so clueless about her body. Here, she thought and did the most awkward things. Even at twenty-two, she still doesn’t know how to properly groom. It was funny, but then it just got annoying. She was awkward while preparing to have sex, during sex, and afterwards. If you shower/bathe properly and keep your lady parts waxed/shaved, then what the flip do you have to be self-conscious about? That’s all the girl had to do. She was so stuck on her pubes, that she may as well have married them. I can’t tell you how many times I “ewwed” while reading this. She thought the most dumb things while in the sixty-nine position. And I won’t even spoil what happened during that scene. I was laughing so hard, just let me tell you. I’m not sure why the author made her more floundering here. She didn’t mature as a character, she just moved into a flat with her friends and stayed the same.

If I hadn’t laughed so much while reading this book, I may not have liked it. I love the supporting characters and what they brought to the story. Emma was actually my favorite here. Maybe it’s because of what happened with her and Sergio. Nick is a great guy. Why Ellie wanted to just use him for sex is beyond me. I’d pick a relationship over one night stands or “booty calls” any day. Did she not learn anything from the “clap”? I like Virgin more because, at least then, Ellie had every right to be clumsy and inexperienced. Sure, she’s just a year older here, but that doesn’t mean she couldn’t grow up and learn a few things.

 I’d recommend this simply for the way that it can brighten anyone’s mood. It’s the perfect chick-lit to read on any day. Ellie may annoy you with the things she does, but the girl will have you laughing so much that you will not care. From her thoughts about trimming her pubes, to her clumsiness during sex; you will be laughing your butt off. And if she had snogged and shagged one more time in this book, I probably would have snapped. LOL! Recommended.

images (1)

 

6 thoughts on “Not That Easy by Radhika Sanghani

  1. Bahaha I wasn’t sure what I was getting into when I started reading your review L but I def didn’t expect this! Hehe your reactions “ewwww” cracked me up! I would love to read this girl and the MC def sounds like one that I would be friends with (I could tottally see myself doing what she did since I’m super self conscious about EVERYTHING) awesome review chica!♡♡

    Like

  2. Hmm, I am not sure where I stand with this book. It does sound hilariously funny and like it could be a ton of fun to read. But at the same time I am not really a NA reader and this seems to mostly be focused on awkwardness and sex. The awkwardness I could do but the constant sex? And the fact that the character doesn’t develop too much? I’m not sure…

    Like

    • She’s the same Ellie, I was just expecting more character growth with her. It’s a “real” type of book. Girls go through “slutty” phases all the time, it’s no secret. Ellie, however, isn’t a normal girl. I swear she’s an alien or something. Girl is completely clueless and clumsy to the point of annoyance. Still, you will like it (maybe even love it more than Virgin) because it is funny as all hell. The situation with her pubes in Virgin is nothing compared to the mishaps here. And she has a reaction to something here that I almost fell off the bed laughing so hard. LOL! Can’t wait for you to read it!

      Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

