Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

9460487Published: June 7th 2011 By: Quirk Books

Genres: Young-Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Horror, Mystery

Format: Kindle Book Source: Library My Rating: 4 Stars

ADD TO GOODREADS 

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.
A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.
A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography.


REVIEW A unique and horrifying fantasy for anyone to get lost in. I really enjoyed this book, and the photographs that comes with each chapter. I think the addition of the photos adds to the mystery of the unknown. They are super creepy and I tried not to stare at them for too long. I felt like I was watching an episode of Unsolved Mysteries, where they had an episode with ghost stories. If you need a good spooky read this Halloween, this is the book to read.

For as long as Jacob can remember, his grandfather has talked about where he grew up. Always showing him pictures of the other kids who lived with him at Miss Peregrine’s Home and telling tales of their abnormalities or gifts, as well as other things. Jacob’s father thinks that it’s all made up for entertainment, and as Jacob got older, he did the same. The older his grandfather gets, the more he seems to be losing his mind. Until one day, his plea for them to take him serious is too late. Jacob and his friend go over to his grandfather’s home and what they, or rather Jacob, see kicks off a search for the truth. Of course, Jacob’s family thinks that he’s losing his wits because of his grandfather’s horrific death. Only Jacob saw what killed his grandfather, and it sure wasn’t any animal. He’s seeing a shrink and his best friend is distant, and his family all think that he just can’t accept the fact that his grandfather is no longer there. After some convincing from Jacob and his therapist, he and his father set off to England in search of the home where his grandfather grew up. It’s apparent that this is no ordinary island, and suddenly all the things his grandfather ever told him is real.

This story is really creepy. I just can’t stress that enough. After the mystery starts to unravel, it all goes by very fast. I was hoping for a little more play-by-play with Jacob and his new friends. Still, it’s a very unique world that Riggs has created here. This book is not without deaths. Horrific deaths at the hands of monsters. I think that Jacob could have done this on his own, without his father. The ending only sets you up for the next book, which I can’t bring myself to read just yet. I’m not scared, it’s just too much monsters-and-magic for me to be reading right now. 🙂 This book’s target audience is YA, but I think it’s appropriate for all ages. Kids love creepy stories, so if you ever want to read them one around the campfire instead of making one up, this is the story to tell. Again, the vintage photography in this book is amazing. Without them I don’t think I would have been able to picture the characters that clearly in my head. I definitely recommend this book.

reviewstars4of5

6 thoughts on “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

  1. I’ve been so curious about this series! And I had know idea there were more vintage photos in the book beyond the cover though, that’s really cool! Thanks for the heads up, because I was going to pick up audio for this if I ever decided to read it…and I would have missed out on the visuals.

    Like

  2. I have heard so many things about this book but in general it is a book that i am looking forward to reading quite a bit so I can be completely creeped out. For all the reviews I have read no one has ever mentioned the photographs, but it seems like it will be an interesting read. I look forward to knowing how the mystery and all will unravel.

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

