Cold Burn of Magic by Jennifer Estep

22715908Published: April 28th 2015 By: Kensington

Genres: Young-Adult, Urban-Fantasy, Magic

Format: Kindle Book Source: Library My Rating: 4 Stars

Goodreads || Amazon || Barnes & Noble

There Be Monsters Here. . .

It’s not as great as you’d think, living in a tourist town that’s known as “the most magical place in America.” Same boring high school, just twice as many monsters under the bridges and rival Families killing each other for power.

I try to keep out of it. I’ve got my mom’s bloodiron sword and my slightly illegal home in the basement of the municipal library. And a couple of Talents I try to keep quiet, including very light fingers and a way with a lock pick.

But then some nasty characters bring their Family feud into my friend’s pawn shop, and I have to make a call–get involved, or watch a cute guy die because I didn’t. I guess I made the wrong choice, because now I’m stuck putting everything on the line for Devon Sinclair. My mom was murdered because of the Families, and it looks like I’m going to end up just like her.


REVIEW

Cold Burn of Magic has something that will appeal to many readers. Not only is there magic, but there are monsters here as well. Add in mob families feuding and killing each other, and this makes for a great read. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I loved this after I finished.

I love the heroine, Lila. She’s totally bad ass and can pick pockets with the best of them. I also felt sorry for how she was living, and I just wanted to give her a hug. She’s really sad, and a tad bitter, about her mom’s murder. She can’t get over it, so she hates the rich families that live atop the mountain – especially the Draconis. After some negotiating and threats, Lila finds herself as a bodyguard to Devon Sinclair. As more attempts on Devon’s life come, Lila finds the real reason for all the chaos. And she thought that she was the only one with a secret talent.

This story takes place within a week. I love the fight scenes, even though they weren’t very intense. There’s some forbidden love going on with two of the supporting characters, and I can’t wait to see what happens when both families find out. Or is it all some elaborate plan of the Draconi Family? Either way, I can’t wait to find out. At first introduction, I disliked Claudia Sinclair. She was snobby and bitchy and just ARRRGH! But then, I started to wonder what was behind that hard shell of hers. She totally cares for Lila, but she will also do anything to protect her family. So if threatening and blackmailing Lila into staying is cruel, so be it. I started to admire the woman by the end. She’s a little intimidating also.

Devon Sinclair is all cute boy and muscles. Yeah, I really like the guy. I’m so glad that the author didn’t have Lila all over him. Sure, the attraction was there, but Lila made sure not to cross that line – even if it did hurt. I love how Devon cared about those around him. He’s very considerate and charming. No wonder it’s hard for the females around him, I’d fall for him too. Felix’s character….. I don’t trust him just yet. I don’t care how hot he is or how much he flirts – something seems off with him. Yeah, we all know what he’s hiding, but I wonder if there’s more to it. I wasn’t surprised by who the traitor is in this one. He got what he deserved in the end.

If you enjoy urban fantasy and magic, then you will more than likely love this book. This is YA, so I’m sure it’s not as intense as Estep’s adult series. I’m just ready to read Dark Heart of Magic and see what else these characters get into. Definitely recommend.

stars-4

10 thoughts on “Cold Burn of Magic by Jennifer Estep

  1. Squee! So glad you loved this! Have you read her Elemental Assassin series? You must if you haven’t yet, it’s like this only its for adults. If you have, I hope both series crosses over at some point

    Like

  2. I’ve been dying to check out Jennifer Estep’s work, and I guess I missed this one earlier this year. It looked to be the first book of a series, which is why I was interested, and it’s gotten a lot of positive reviews like yours! I’m going to have to grab a copy 🙂

    Like

  3. I have been reading a lot of wonderful reviews for this book, so I have it on my TBR right now! I am looking forward to it because I am a big fantasy junkie and well, that side of magic and monsters really does appeal to me. I also like the sound of the characters. I think they would probably take some getting used to at first but then once you do!

    Like

    • I think a lot of readers will sympathize with Lila on some level. And she’s really cunning and not a bad fighter either. I’m looking forward to her tasks getting more dangerous and to see if she fights the attraction between herself and Devon.

      Liked by 1 person

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

