The Rose Society by Marie Lu

Published: October 13th 2015 By: G.P. Putnam’s Sons BYR

Series: The Young Elites#2 Also Reviewed: The Young Elites #1

23846013Genres: Young-Adult, Dystopia, Science-Fiction, Fantasy, Magic

Format: Kindle Source: Library My Rating: 4.5 Stars

Find It: Goodreads || Amazon || B&N 

Once upon a time, a girl had a father, a prince, a society of friends. Then they betrayed her, and she destroyed them all.

Adelina Amouteru’s heart has suffered at the hands of both family and friends, turning her down the bitter path of revenge. Now known and feared as the White Wolf, she and her sister flee Kenettra to find other Young Elites in the hopes of building her own army of allies. Her goal: to strike down the Inquisition Axis, the white-cloaked soldiers who nearly killed her.

But Adelina is no heroine. Her powers, fed only by fear and hate, have started to grow beyond her control. She does not trust her newfound Elite friends. Teren Santoro, leader of the Inquisition, wants her dead. And her former friends, Raffaele and the Dagger Society, want to stop her thirst for vengeance. Adelina struggles to cling to the good within her. But how can someone be good, when her very existence depends on darkness?


 

REVIEW

*I will try to keep this review spoiler free, but if I manage to give even the slightest twist away, forgive me. I finished this up before I went out Sunday afternoon and I’m still thinking about it.*

Sequel suffer? NEVER! I loved this way more than The Young Elites! I’m so glad that I didn’t wait to read this, but at the same time, I want the next book right now because this wasn’t enough. In the beginning I was so hopeful. Adelina was fighting back and gaining allies to help her right the wrongs. Now, I’m scared for her! This sequel is much darker than it’s predecessor, so prepare for it if you are planning to read it.

Adelina: Her power defines her more in this book. She’s a girl scorned, so it’s natural for her thoughts to be full of hate and revenge. However, that ending scared the hell out of me. Not just for her, but for Violetta and anyone that feels close to her. I’m not sure if Magiano and Sergio can handle what is to come, so I won’t be surprised if Adelina finds herself alone in the next book. Prepare yourselves readers! You have been warned.

Teren: Not much to say about this traitor. We all know what he did in book one, and he stays true to his character here. There’s a big twist in this plot that I didn’t see coming. There’s some dark stuff going down and Teren, as well as Adelina, got the shock of their lives. I’m not even sure what the hell is to come for anyone in this book.

Raffael: I wanted to hate him so much, but I can’t. Unlike Adelina, he went into the storm for one purpose. I can’t say why because that’s a major spoiler, but everything changes in this book. He’s just trying to stop the madness but he is so loyal to the ones he loves that at times I wanted to tell him to man the hell up and join the chaos. But no, he’s the only one, aside from Violetta, that I have hopes for. Don’t get me wrong, he can kick butt with the best of them, but he’s concerned about something else and I can’t wait for the next book!

I just don’t know what to say, other than read this book! I’m surprised at how much more I love this than The Young Elites. After reading this, it’s hard to see what the outcome will be for the Elites. Some scary and dark things are happening and I can’t wait to read the next book. Highly recommended!

4.5 STARS

25 thoughts on “The Rose Society by Marie Lu

    • 3.5 – 4 stars is what I went with. Trust me, you’ll probably like this one more. It slows down at times, but that’s because of each person plotting the other’s demise and there are allies to gain.

      Like

  1. I was hesitating to read this series, but you’ve got me re-thinking that. Love the way you describe the characters and the feel of the plot.

    Like

  2. I’ve had The Young Elites for so long and I still haven’t read it! I purchased it on it’s release date, mainly because I wanted to get into her writing, but didn’t want to commit to a trilogy. Why on earth am I waiting lol?? Now the damn The Rose Society is out, so I need to take both books down before the third one releases!

    Like

    • I am like that with a lot of series. You have until October 2016 until the next one comes out. Her Legend Trilogy is what got me into her writing. It’s better than this one, in my opinion.

      Like

  3. Mini comment seeing as I didn’t actually read the review in fear of spoilers (yep, I’m that kind of spoiler-dodging girl) I am just so glad to hear that this book doesn’t have second book syndrome and is so fun! Hope you like your next read too x

    Like

  4. I’m going to read The Rose Society on January. I’m looking forward to dark Adelina! (what I want to avoid at all costs is a love triangle)

    Laura @ psilovethatbook

    Like

    • You are going to love this one, simply for the BIG twist. Adelina, for the most part, is very bad ass here, but she also scares me. And I think you will love Magiano as well. He’s a clever one.

      Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

