Rebel Spring by Morgan Rhodes

16000044Published: November 27th 2013 By: Razorbill

Series: Falling Kingdoms Genres: Young-Adult, High-Fantasy

Format: Kindle Source: Library My Rating: 4.5 Stars

Find It: Goodreads || Amazon || B & N

The road to power… is paved with blood and magic.

Cleo is now a prisoner in her own palace, forced to be an ambassador for Mytica as the evil King Gaius lies to her people.
Magnus stands to eventually inherit the new kingdom but is still obsessed with his feelings for his adopted sister, Lucia.
Lucia is haunted by the outcome of the breathtaking display of magic that allowed her father to capture the kingdoms.
Jonas watched at the palace gates a troop of rebels behind him, waiting for him to tell them how he plans to overtake King Gaius.

After a bloody siege, Auranos has been defeated, its young queen orphaned and dethroned. The three kingdoms—Auranos, Limeros, and Paelsia—are now unwillingly united as one country called Mytica. But the allure of ancient, dangerous magic beckons still, and with it the chance to rule not just Mytica, but the whole world over…

At the heart of the fray are four brave young people grappling for that magic and the power it promises. For Cleo, the magic would enable her to reclaim her royal seat. In Jonas’s hands, it frees his nation, and in Lucia’s, it fulfills the ancient prophecy of her destiny. And if the magic were Magnus’s, he would finally prove his worth in the eyes of his cruel and scheming father, King Gaius, who rules Mytica with a punishing hand.

When Gaius begins to build a road into the Forbidden Mountains to physically link all of Mytica, he sparks a long-smoking fire in the hearts of the people that will forever change the face of this land. For Gaius’s road is paved with blood, and its construction will have cosmic consequences.


 

REVIEW

 I’m not sure where to start here. This sequel came with lots of surprises. Character deaths are imminent, so tread carefully. I still stand beside the characters that I liked from the first book, and a new one here and there. Then, there are THE TWO that I despise the most – King Gaius and Lord Aron. Though, I am very much satisfied with most of the things that happened towards the end.

Everyone wants to find the Kindred and possess powers beyond their control. After the events of book one, I just didn’t see any of these characters achieving anything because of their greed. But, some are not greedy, and want to do good. New people are coming out of the shadows, wanting in on the magic that is Mytica altogether. Loyalties are tested, unrequited love is still at play. Or is it? That was a shocker, what happened during that liquid courage boost. Ha! I don’t know what the hell is going on here. I’m just gonna sip my tea and hope for the best. Nic and company can do what they do.

*Favorite Quotes*

“But even the coldest hate can shift into something warmer if given enough time, just as an ugly caterpillar can turn into a beautiful butterfly.”

“Unrequited love is a painful thing, isn’t it?”

What is with these authors and killing off characters when you start to get used to them? I know this is only book 2, but so much has happened already. The Paelsians have been turned into slaves. King Gaius is the tyrant of all tyrants. Especially, after he ordered that hit and then helped frame another. Cleo keeps hiding the ring but others know of it and will kill to get it. Magic is everywhere, yet these not-so-bright characters always say to themselves, Magic is real? Watchers are real? But…but…. the stories are just that; stories. I swear to God that irked me every time one of them thought it, no matter how much proof they had before their eyes. Watchers are showing themselves more and all hell is about to break loose. Magnus is finally becoming someone that I could get behind. He surprised me so much during this. Jonas Jonas Jonas! I shouted his name a lot, especially at the end. He’s been given a chance to do something other than be an angry rebel. I wonder how this will all play out in the next book. I’m really interested in the newly formed friendship of the two powerful princesses.

I don’t want to spoil this, but if you’ve read book one, then there is no way you can forgo this book; whether you liked it or not. Trust me, it gets better, and I’m already looking into the next book at my library. Highly recommend this series people!

4.5 STARS

26 thoughts on “Rebel Spring by Morgan Rhodes

  1. WOWZAS, sounds like a lot of things are happening in this one! I haven’t started the series myself, but I know many many people love it. I’m glad to hear that the sequel is just as action-packed as the first book! 😀 Awesome review Lekeisha.

    Like

  2. I am so happy to know that this sequel is so epic and wonderful as well. It really does sound like you are loving all that you are reading, and that makes me so glad! I can’t wait to get started on the series and will probably be reading book 2 as well when I do so.

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

