Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

23734628Published: October 6th 2015 By: St. Martin’s Griffin

Genres: Young-Adult, Fantasy, GLTB, Paranormal

Format: Kindle

 Source: Gift My Rating: 4 Stars

Find It: Goodreads |

 Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Simon Snow is the worst chosen one who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here—it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story—but far, far more monsters.

 

 

REVIEW

This book has given me a migraine. Not because it’s bad, but because this has to be THE MOST amazing set of characters outside of the Harry Potter universe. I have been going back and forth with Simon, Baz, Penny and Agatha for 4 days. It started off slow in the beginning, which isn’t really a bad thing. We get the layout of the characters’ personalities and this amazing world. We get to speculate on who the villains are, or who may be the good guys but are seriously acting otherwise.

Fangirl is one of my favorite books by RR, and although I skimmed most of the Simon Snow fanfiction parts, I still went nuts when it was announced that there was to be a book. I’m so happy that I got to be apart of this world. The magick and monsters are so cleverly done that you can’t help but turn the pages. Simon and Baz….. there are no words. I loved their relationship from the start. Agatha wasn’t my favorite, but she did add some tension to the story. Penny is brilliant, and she has the answer to everything. I love her friendship with Simon the most because she truly cares about him. Sadly, it ended just when I was starting to want a little more.

If you had doubts about reading this book, then I’m here to tell you to give it a go. It’s amazing what Rowell did with these characters; which is why she is one of my favorite authors. She gave these characters so much life and the world is hella crazy. Read this book!

reviewstars4of5

2016 TBR

 

28 thoughts on “Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

  1. This book is so high on my tbr… so excited for it! Unlike you, I devoured every bit of fanfiction in Fangirl, which is a bit odd because I don’t read fanfiction in real life, but I have yet to get it (because money and it not being available in my country). And everything I have heard about it makes me even more excited for it!
    AHHH I WANT IT!

    Nitzan @ Afterwords

    Like

  2. I still have yet to read an RR story. Fangirl is the one that most caught my eye. This one sounds intriguing especially the way you describe it. Nice review!

    Like

  3. This was one of my favorite reads of 2015, I’m so glad you enjoyed it! I’ve been excited for it since the moment it was announced, the fanfic parts of Fangirl were some of my favorites. You are so right about the characters, and story, I mean I wasn’t expecting it to be such a long book but then I didn’t want it to end. Simon and Baz forever!

    Lovely review! =)

    Like

  4. I’ve heard so much about Rainbow Rowell! I actually bought her novel Fangirl last month because there was a great deal on the ebook, and I just had to jump on the bandwagon. I’m looking forward to checking it out, and maybe pick up Carry On later 🙂

    Like

  5. A lot of people really do love this book but I feel like I will be able to appreciate it more if I read Fangirl first? Would you agree with that or do you think it really doesn’t matter? Either way, this fantasy world sounds fun and very playful, and the characters sound like they just make the book incredible.

    Like

  6. I love the idea for this book and am laughing that fanfiction is more mainstream now. Some people still don’t know that the bestseller fifty shades of grey was fanficand this had got to be better than that lol. I actually did the opposite, skimmed the main story because I thought levi was a total git and liked the fanfic much more so i need to pick this one up!

    Like

    • I loved FSoG as a fanfiction because I was into it heavy back then. I read the books and enjoyed them, but I was put off by the author’s egotism. The movie did not need to happen. She should have stopped at the books. I hope you get to read Carry On soon.

      Like

    • I can understand why some didn’t like it, because it is sort of silly. Not in a bad way, but RR actually wrote it as a serious situation and the characters pull it off. I’m a Potterhead, so I laughed at a lot of this book because of its parody to HP.

      Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

