Blog Tour: Borderline by Mishell Baker – Review+Giveaway

Boderline Tour Banner

*I received this book for free from the publisher, via Irish Banana Book Tours, in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.*

About The Book

Borderline (1)Published: March 1st, 2016

by: Saga Press

Genres: Adult-Fiction, Urban-Fantasy, Mystery, Supernatural, Mental Health

Format: ARC

Source: Publisher

My Rating: 4 Stars

A year ago, Millie lost her legs and her filmmaking career in a failed suicide attempt. Just when she’s sure the credits have rolled on her life story, she gets a second chance with the Arcadia Project: a secret organization that polices the traffic to and from a parallel reality filled with creatures straight out of myth and fairy tales.

For her first assignment, Millie is tasked with tracking down a missing movie star who also happens to be a nobleman of the Seelie Court. To find him, she’ll have to smooth-talk Hollywood power players and uncover the surreal and sometimes terrifying truth behind the glamour of Tinseltown. But stronger forces than just her inner demons are sabotaging her progress, and if she fails to unravel the conspiracy behind the noble’s disappearance, not only will she be out on the streets, but the shattering of a centuries-old peace could spark an all-out war between worlds.

No pressure.

 

Find It: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | IndieBound | The Book Depository

 


 

Review

Borderline is the first book in a new urban fantasy trilogy, The Arcadia Project. This book has a very different approach than the usual books of this genre. It blends fantasy and reality in a way that will leave you amazed. I especially like the way the author handled the mental health side to this unique story. All of the key players represented some form of mental health that allowed them to feel above normal, in a world that wants to keep them contained and medicated. The twist comes in the style of a very different world than the one we know. Beneath the glamour of Hollywood, there is a world full of creatures and magic that will make your head spin. This book surprised me. Not that I was expecting it to be a bad read, but man…..I totally wasn’t expecting to be reading about big Hollywood directors and actors hanging out with fey. Yup, you read correctly. 

Millie is a flawed character, and I love that about her. She has prosthetic legs and Borderline Personality Disorder, which you don’t get often in fiction. Millie is recovering from a suicide attempt, in a mental health facility, when she is approached by Caryl to join the Arcadia Project. She’s only given a day to think it over and leave the facility behind. I was kind of put off by Millie’s acceptance of Caryl’s credentials and what exactly it is that the project consists of, but the story moved at such a pace that I couldn’t help but go with the flow. Millie was so ready to start her life again and to be out of that place, so she didn’t think twice. Once Millie is set up at the house, there are a few interesting characters to meet. They are from all walks of life, and brought an air of mystery to the story that I didn’t get from all the magic hoopla. 

I don’t want to spoil the good parts, so I’ll just say this. This book is different from any Fey stories that I’ve ever read. To use Hollywood as a backdrop is great. I’ve always said that people who have personality and other severe  mental disorders, see things that we cannot see with our own eyes. Well, when one can’t see these things, that automatically gets the person who can being called “crazy”. I think a lot of readers will appreciate the mental health side to this story. It completely stands out from other magic filled books. Millie learns more magic filled secrets than she can handle, but she is strong and determined. There are a few characters that I don’t trust all that much, but I’m ready to read book two to ease my mind.

Borderline is like nothing I’ve read before. If you want something different in your urban fantasy, read this book. You will not be disappointed!

 


 

Visit the other stops before the tour ends!

Week 1:
 
Week 2:

About The Author

Mishell Baker (Vanie Poyey, Headshots LA)Mishell Baker is a 2009 graduate of the Clarion Fantasy & Science Fiction Writers’ Workshop.  Her short fiction has appeared in Beneath Ceaseless Skies, Daily Science Fiction, Redstone Science Fiction, and Electric Velocipede.

Her urban fantasy series The Arcadia Project is being released by Simon & Schuster’s Saga imprint beginning with Borderline in March 2016.  The series is narrated by Millicent Roper, a snarky double-amputee and suicide survivor who works with a ragtag collection of society’s least-wanted, keeping the world safe from the chaotic whims of supernatural beasties.

When Mishell isn’t convention-hopping or going on wild research adventures, she lives in Los Angeles with her husband and two changelings.  When her offspring are older, she will probably remember what her hobbies are.  In the meantime, she enjoys sending and receiving old-fashioned handwritten paper letters.  You can write her at:

Mishell Baker

PO Box 78760

Los Angeles, CA 90016

If analog isn’t your thing, Mishell also tweets almost incessantly under the handle @mishellbaker.

Website | Twitter


 

Giveaway

3 Finished Copies (US only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

30 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Borderline by Mishell Baker – Review+Giveaway

  1. I hadn’t heard of this book before this one definitely does sound unique and I love the sound of urban fantasy mixing with Hollywood and that kind of thing! I’m also very impressed with the fact that his one handles the mental health illness issues very well too. Sounds like my kind of book and I hope you love the sequel!

    Like

  2. This sounds so different from any UF I’ve read. The setting is close to my neighborhood, but I don’t really like the Hollywood, movie star scene. Hmm… I’m always looking for a new, good UF series,though, so I’ll keep this in mind. Wonderful review, Lekeisha! 🙂

    Like

  3. I hadn’t heard of this one, but wow! I’m interested now. It sounds truly fantastic and it seems to take a unique take as well. Can I just say how much I love that Millie is a flawed character too? I do love flawed girls in books because they are realistic. I’ll have to add this to my TBR!
    Great review, Lekeisha!

    Like

  4. That’s an interesting premise about the mental health issues being the way to see through the to the real reality. The Hollywood and the fey aspects sound a fun blend. The heroine sounds interesting, too. I’ll have to check this one out.

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

