Mini Reviews: Dangerous Kisses by Alice Lake & Chasing Eva by Camellia Hart

29249117Published: February 1st 2016

Publisher: Self Published

Genre: Adult Fiction, Historical, Romance, Suspense

Format: ebook Source: Review Request

My Rating: 3 Stars 3STAR

Add To Goodreads

Miss Lavinia Halls is a member of the Guild of Hybrids, a secret society dedicated to helping women in need. When faced with a terrified new client, Lavinia declares that her client’s fiancé must pay for his sins. The fact that she can’t take her eyes off the man’s kissable lips only spurs her resolve to bring her assignment to a quick conclusion.

Eric Yorke, Viscount Mathieson, wishes nothing more than to distance himself from his treacherous fiancée, but in his quest to do so, he finds himself trapped in the clutches of the unconventional Miss Halls. The delectable yet annoyingly persistent woman seems intent on ruining his life no matter how much he tries to thwart her attempts.

Her efforts to seek and destroy meet their match in his determination to foil her plans, until their struggles collide in a scandal of enormous proportions. Fated together, they must overcome ruin, danger and heartbreak. Will they be able to survive their past or is their future together doomed?

Review

*I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.*

Dangerous Kisses isn’t your run-of-the-mill historical romance. I love the time period, late Victorian era, and there was some suspense. That’s about all that I really enjoyed about this story. And there’s certainly a lot about Eric that I like, but Lavinia is not the heroine I thought her to be going in. I like badass girls. I love even more when there are badass girls looking out for the weak. And while Lavinia is both of those things, she’s also shady. She was always one step ahead and twisted things around, to where they didn’t make any sense. There is a lot of betrayal going on in this tale, and I would have liked to actually have a little more history to the story. There was a lot of cat and mouse between Eric and Lavinia, who can’t deny the attraction between them. The premise of this would have been a better historical account if it had weaved in more Women’s Acts that were very important to the time period; as that’s the whole point of the Guild of Hybrids. Overall, I liked all the excitement to the story, but I was hoping for a more historical tale. It almost felt modern at times. Somewhat recommended!

 


 

29599989Published: April 5th 2016

Publisher: Self Published

Genres: Adult Fiction, Romance, Suspense

Format: ebook Source: Review Request

My Rating: 3 Stars 3STAR

Add To Goodreads

An addictive, suspenseful & sensual story about a man and a woman whose lives are about to get sizzling hot…

After living through her share of disloyal relationships, Evangeline Avery will be damned if she lets another man cheat her. A beautiful and confident woman, Eva is the owner of an interior design firm at the brink of collapse. She swears to bring her company back to its past glory, even if it involves sweet talking the one man who caused this turmoil in the first place – Clive Stanton.

Notorious playboy Clive Stanton is a powerful businessman and a formidable enemy of many. He doesn’t do love, or at least not until he meets her again, fifteen years after he saw her last. Eva, his crush from teenage years, the one that got away, is back in his world and he is determined to do anything to make her his.

Will passion and lust bring them together or conflict and the unforgettable scars from their pasts forever tear them apart?

 

Review

*I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.*

There’s a lot going on with this story that really didn’t come off as good as I’d hoped. A few similarities to other books of this genre: Alpha Male, Billionaire, Playboy-falls-for-the-seemingly-ordinary-girl, Secrets, Drama….. Being a Crossfire fan, the names made this more of what-was-the-author-thinking type of reads. I get that characters in different books will have the same names, but when 2 or more are used, it feels deliberate. Eva as the heroine, Clive’s last name being Stanton… those things jumped out at me from the start. 

I actually like this story, and Clive and Eva are hot together. Sometimes they got in the way of their own happiness by not communicating what they’re feeling, so that put me off as well. What actually helped me through this is the dual POV. I love knowing what Clive and Eva were both thinking, and if they had only communicated better it would have been almost perfect. The mystery behind Eva’s father’s death and the corporate espionage made this stand out. Maybe a little too much? The ending leaves you wondering what’s next, but I’m not entirely sure I want to read it yet. I’m just not completely sold on it all. If you are new to romantic suspense in a corporate setting, this may be a good one to start with. I just can’t see readers who are used to this genre finding this different. I could be wrong, so dive right on in!

 

12 thoughts on “Mini Reviews: Dangerous Kisses by Alice Lake & Chasing Eva by Camellia Hart

  1. Seems like these were two okay reads that had some good points and some that they could have improved on. In the first book I really like the sound of the cat and mouse game, but then again I also really like when there is history in my historical fiction because I love the subject and study of history. I do like the cover though. Chasing Eva sounds too similar to other ones for my liking, even if you did manage to still enjoy it. Good mini reviews!

    Like

  2. A shame to hear that these weren’t as good as you’d hoped, but I’m glad that there were some positive aspects. I know how things can be when they are too “run of the mill”, you want to like it but you also wish for something more.

    Like

  3. HAHA! Girl, I already knew when I saw this post was a mini-review, I knew you didn’t like the books you read and you are going to tell us just what you thought about them! It just goes to show you, you can’t just a book by its cover because the second book, Chasing Eva, with all the bright colors looked like it could have been good. And am I the only one that thought the chick on the cover of t hat book was Mila Kunis?

    Like

  4. I like that Dangerous Girls isn’t your typical historical. I definitely like the sound of the story, but I wonder how I’d feel about Lavinia, especially if she’s sketchy.

    I saw drama in your review for the other book and knew it wouldn’t be for me. I get tired of OTT drama in romance books.

    Great reviews!

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

