Release Day Celebration! Velvet Undercover by Teri Brown + Giveaway

VelvetRDC

 

Join me in celebrating the release of Velvet Undercover! Don’t forget to enter the giveaway before you leave and spread the word. You can also check out my review HERE.

 

 ABOUT THE BOOK

24903917Title: VELVET UNDERCOVER
Author: Teri Brown
Release Date: October 20th, 2015
Publisher: Balzer + Bray

SYNOPSIS: 

Perfect for fans of Jennifer Donnelly and Libba Bray comes this page-turning historical spy thriller from Teri Brown, author of the Born of Illusion series.
Samantha Donaldson’s family has always done its duty for the British Crown. In the midst of World War I, seventeen-year-old Sam follows in their footsteps, serving her country from the homefront as a Girl Guide and messenger for the intelligence organization MI5. After her father disappears on a diplomatic mission, she continues their studies of languages, high-level mathematics, and complex puzzles and codes, hoping to make him proud.
When Sam is asked to join the famed women’s spy group La Dame Blanche she’s torn—this could be the adventure she’s dreamed of, but how can she abandon her mother, who has already lost a husband to the war? But when her handlers reveal shocking news, Sam realizes there’s no way she can refuse the exciting and dangerous opportunity.
Her acceptance leads her straight into the heart of enemy territory on a mission to extract the most valuable British spy embedded in Germany, known to the members of LDB only as Velvet. Deep undercover within the court of Kaiser Wilhelm II, Samantha must navigate the labyrinthine palace and its many glamorous—and secretive—residents to complete her assignment. To make matters worse she finds herself forming a forbidden attraction to the enemy-a dangerously handsome German guard. In a place where personal politics are treacherously entangled in wartime policy, can Samantha discover the truth and find Velvet before it’s too late…for them both?
From author Teri Brown comes the thrilling story of one girl’s journey into a deadly world of spycraft and betrayal—with unforgettable consequences.

 
 
BOOK LINKS: Goodreads || Barnes & Noble || Amazon
 
 
PRAISE FOR VELVET UNDERCOVER

“A slow-burning tale of espionage and deceit that explores the complexities and moral uncertainties of war.” (Kirkus Reviews)
“A taut and swiftly paced historical spy mystery, filled with suspense and surprising plot twists…A great fit for fans of Elizabeth Wein’s Code Name Verity.” (School Library Journal)
“Clever, impetuous Samantha Donaldson is a delight to follow through the murky world of the German court in this twisty tale of espionage and forbidden romance.” Katherine Longshore, author of Gilt, Tarnish
“Brown’s latest is a pulse-racing, whip-smart thriller that kept me guessing until the end.”
—Cat Winters, Morris Award Finalist for In the Shadow of Blackbirds

 
 
ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Brown color photoWell behaved women rarely make history. Teri Brown lived that quote way before she ever even heard it. The two things she is most proud of, (besides her children), is that she jumped out of an airplane once and beat the original Legend of Zelda video game.  She’s a novel writer, head banger, pet keeper, math hater, cocktail drinker, booty shaker, book reader, city slicker, food fixer, rule breaker, wine sipper and word scribbler. She loves her husband, children, puppies and chocolate. 

Facebook || Twitter || Instagram || Website


GIVEAWAY

Must be 13 + To Enter | Ships in US Only

One Grand Prize Winner will get:
– One signed hardback copy of Born of Illusion
– One signed hardback copy of Born of Deception
– One drawstring spygirls bag from the International Spy Museum

– One tablet of spy paper that dissolves when wet
– One password required lock and key journal
– Two black light spy pens
– One pair of brass spyglasses with brass rope chain (Perfect for spying!)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Release Day Celebration: Walk On Earth A Stranger by Rae Carson + Giveaway

 

I am so excited that WALK ON EARTH A STRANGER by Rae Carson releases today and that I get to share the news, along with an awesome giveaway! If you haven’t yet heard about this wonderful new series by Rae Carson, be sure to check out all the details below. This blitz also includes a giveaway for a set of the GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS series (in paperback format). US only. So if you’d like a chance to win, enter in the Rafflecopter at the bottom of this post.

About The Book:
Title: WALK
ON EARTH A STRANGER
Author: Rae
Carson
Pub. Date:
September 22, 2015
Publisher:
Greenwillow Books
Pages: 448
 
The first
book in a new trilogy from acclaimed New York Times bestselling author Rae
Carson. A young woman with the magical ability to sense the presence of gold
must flee her home, taking her on a sweeping and dangerous journey across Gold
Rush–era America.
Lee Westfall
has a secret. She can sense the presence of gold in the world around her. Veins
deep beneath the earth, pebbles in the river, nuggets dug up from the forest
floor. The buzz of gold means warmth and life and home—until everything is
ripped away by a man who wants to control her. Left with nothing, Lee disguises
herself as a boy and takes to the trail across the country. Gold was discovered
in California, and where else could such a magical girl find herself, find
safety? Rae Carson, author of the acclaimed Girl of Fire and Thorns trilogy,
dazzles with this new fantasy that subverts both our own history and familiar
fantasy tropes.
Walk on
Earth a Stranger, the first book in this new trilogy, introduces—as only Rae
Carson can—a strong heroine, a perilous road, a fantastical twist, and a
slow-burning romance. Includes a map and author’s note on historical
research. 

 
 
Read chapter
1 of WALK ON EARTH A STRANGER annotated by Rae Carson
HERE!
 
 
 
 
 
About
Rae:
Rae Carson is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the
acclaimed Girl of Fire and Thorns trilogy. Her next book, Walk On Earth A
Stranger, will be available September 22, 2015. She lives in Arizona with her
husband.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Connect with the Author: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Giveaway Details:
 
1 winner
will receive a set of the 3 GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS series (in paperback
format). US Only.
Ends on September
30th at Midnight EST!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Release Day Celebration + Giveaway: Soaring Through Stars by Rajdeep Paulus @RajdeepPaulus @MyShelfAndI

SoaringBanner

SoaringThroughStarsFRONTjpegApril2015Release Date: April 23rd 2015

Author: Rajdeep Paulus

Publisher: Birch House Press

“I live in the in between. Between holding on and letting go. Hurt clings to me. Hope teases me. Home. I can’t explain it, but sometimes, I just want to go home.”

Talia and Jesse Vanderbilt have escaped a childhood full of abuse, and when they have a chance to put their father behind bars, setbacks arise from every direction. The siblings can’t help but consider the option to walk away and move on with their lives.

Then someone unexpected brings his own secrets, forcing the Vanderbilt teens to revisit their pasts and rethink their plans. Through it all, Lagan and Talia’s Post-it love story blossoms, while Jesse and Summer hit roadblocks. 

From the award-winning author of Swimming Through Clouds and Seeing Through Stones comes a powerful story of freedom and belonging in this final book of the young adult trilogy that began with an invitation on a little Post-it note. 

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

 

PRAISE FOR SOARING THROUGH STARS
“Soaring through Stars is a beautiful, perfect ending to a truly exceptional series… Don’t miss this one.”
~USA Today’s HEA Blog, Serena Chase

“Rajdeep Paulus writes young adult fiction with a new kind of hero… compassionate at moments when it would be much easier to stand by and do nothing.”
~Amazon Author Success Story
“The Swimming Through Clouds series is an incredible story of the strength of true love and the power of courage. Talia, Lagan, and Jesse will sneak into your heart and stay there long after you read the last line.” ~Amalie Howard, bestselling IndieNext author of Alpha Goddess

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
RajdeepPaulusAuthorPhotoShopRajdeep Paulus is an Award-winning author of Swimming Through Clouds and Seeing Through Stones. Rajdeep studied English Literature at Northwestern and lives in New York with her Sunshine and four princesses.

Website, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram, Tumblr, Amazon Author Page

 

GIVEAWAY
1 Winner wins Blue Swarovski crystal heart charm on silver chain (U.S. Residents Only)
1 Winner wins Paperbacks of the trilogy – THREE BOOKS (U.S. Residents Only)
3 Winners win Ebooks of Swimming Through Clouds (Book One)

a Rafflecopter giveaway