ARC Review: Creators by Tiffany Truitt

18050018

 

Title: Creators (The Lost Souls #3)

Author: Tiffany Truitt

Release Date: April 28, 2014

Publisher: Entangled Teen

Source: eARC from publisher

Genre: YA/Science-Fiction/Dystopia

Rating: 3 Stars

Goodreads Amazon


SYNOPSIS: Heartbroken but determined more than ever after a tense showdown in the woods, sixteen-year-old Tess once again returns to the safety of her community of  Isolationists. Bolstered by new alliances and desperate to protect those she loves, this time she knows she can return stronger and more powerful than ever to take back what is hers. As she trains in combat and grows more confident, Tess receives beautiful letters penned by her forbidden love, the chosen one James, from his prison in Templeton. He is now serving as a bodyguard to the creators- the team of scientists who created artificial life in the first place. And what he has discovered about the true origin of the illness that halted natural life could change everything. Enemy will become ally and death will bring new hope in this stunning conclusion to Tiffany Truitt’s epic Lost Souls trilogy.


REVIEW

When I agreed to review this book, I wanted to see if I could understand at least some of it without reading it’s predecessors. I feel that if you can start a book in the middle or end of a series/ trilogy, and it is good, then that is one good book. Creators lived up to that, seeing as I enjoyed reading it.

We start off with Tess who is trying to figure out what happened to her father (I didn’t read the previous book, but this picks up after that). They find refuge at a compound that Tess has been to before with Eric and McNair. Finding out that  her sister, Louisa, is pregnant makes Tess all kinds of freaked out because apparently that is forbidden(?) in their world. Again, I had no idea what to expect regarding these characters and this world they live in. Tess makes for a great heroine to me, simply because she tries to do the right thing by fighting for their freedom.

I didn’t like her father at all. He was too keen on exacting revenge, while Tess wanted to fight for different, honorable reasons. I really can’t say too much about James character. I only got to know him through the letters that he penned to his love, and he seems likable. So to my surprise, I felt kinda bad by the end of this book. I can’t say it was a good or bad ending to this trilogy, because I’m clueless about the series as a whole, as to just this last book.

I now have to go back and read the first two later, so expect an update to this review. It is a good book and I very much enjoyed reading it. It goes to say that if I plan on going back to read previous books in a series, then the author did her job. I’M SOLD!! I would recommend this to readers that love YA/Dystopia. Please read them in order though, that way you can enjoy the series as a whole.

3 STARS misc_58misc_58misc_58

You can find the first book 12792988 here, and the second book 15811135 here.

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.