Waiting on Wednesday 25 #IntoWhite

gcross_open_face_book_Clip_Art

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases we are eagerly anticipating. 

This Week I’m Waiting On…..

22694939Into White by Randi Pink

Publisher: Feiwel and Friends

Pub Date: September 13th, 2016

Genres: Young-Adult, Contemporay, Magical Realism

Add To Goodreads

Liz Szabla at Feiwel and Friends has acquired Toya, a YA novel by debut author Randi Pink. Sixteen-year-old Latoya Williams, who is black, attends a mostly white high school in the Bible Belt. In a moment of desperation, she prays for the power to change her race and wakes up white. Publication is scheduled for fall 2016; Marietta B. Zacker at the Nancy Gallt Literary Agency did the deal for North American rights.

 

Why Am I Waiting?

I’m interested to see just how the author will pull this story off. Stories like this don’t come about too often, and since everyone is screaming for diversity, I can’t wait to see how readers take to it. It looks really interesting, and I’m all about POC protagonists. What book are you waiting on this week?

50 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday 25 #IntoWhite

  1. This sounds like a really interesting book! I’m glad there’s more books with POC! And the cover is lovely. Great pick, thanks for highlighting this (:

    Like

  2. I read the synopsis of this one, and after doing so I was so interested! I stumbled across it on Goodreads for some reason or the other – I can’t remember why exactly. But the premise had me gripped and like you, I wonder how they are gonna pull this off. I even added it to my TBR (which you know involves actually getting up and leaving the room now, lol) so it is definitely one I want to try.

    Like

  3. Oh this sounds awesome! This is going to bring another level of diversity. While having a black character is already great, having her wish come true to be white will really highlight things even more in that aspect. I can’t wait to see what you think when you finally get to read it!

    Like

  4. Sounds interesting! I love the concept and the setting makes it even more interesting! Great pick! Thanks for visiting my WoW! Happy reading!

    Like

  5. That’s an interesting premise but I have to admit to being a little bit worried too. Hopefully, the author is able to handle the material well and this ends up being a fantastic educational read!

    Like

  6. I have to agree with you Lekeisha, it’s rare to find books like this these days, I definitely am intrigued to see how the author makes the story work, also I’m hoping we’ll get a lot more from the summary soon. Great pick!

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.