Mini Review: The Replacement Crush by Lisa Brown Roberts

28220968Published: September 6th 2016

Publisher: Entangled Teen

Genres: YA, Contemporary, Romance

Format: eARC Source: Publisher via Netgalley

My Rating:direKRo4T

True love can’t be strategized.

After book blogger Vivian Galdi’s longtime crush pretends their secret summer kissing sessions never happened, Vivian creates a list of safe crushes, determined to protect her heart.

But nerd-hot Dallas, the sweet new guy in town, sends the mission and Vivian’s zing meter into chaos. While designing software for the bookstore where Vivian works, Dallas wages a counter-mission.

Operation Replacement Crush is in full effect. And Dallas is determined to take her heart off the shelf.

Add To Goodreads

 

~Review~

If you don’t want to read The Replacement Crush for booknerd Vivian, read it for Dallas. I really love him! I mean, here’s a cute, nerdy guy that stops at nothing to get the girl. He’s not arrogant, he’s just THAT GUY. The good guys always come in last. *sighs* This was a really cute book, but I had some issues with our girl. Viv is brokenhearted over playboy, Jake. I get it, she’s young so she is destined to make dumb decisions. Her great plan is to go for the guys who really don’t do it for her. I get changing up the game, but this was a stupid idea to begin with. Dallas made me keep reading, and the fact that Viv is a book blogger kept me reading as well. I also think the story is too long, but that could just be me. That whole attempted rape scene just came out of nowhere.

I think that Dallas deserved more than what he got. The chemistry between him and Viv was there from the start, and I don’t like that douche bag Jake stole the show. Viv was a little over the top in her attempts to find a guy NOT TO HER LIKING, and she missed out on what could have been some explosive scenes with Dallas. In the beginning I really liked her character. Everything was all about books and romance and it was just so cute that by the time the drama started, I was in too deep to stop. I like how it ended on the romance between Viv and Dallas, but more of that around the middle would have been great.

Overall, a cute-but-dramatic read. I recommend this to readers who like cute nerdy guys and girls who discuss books. Viv isn’t all bad, but some of her antics made me want to scream. 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Mini Review: The Replacement Crush by Lisa Brown Roberts

  1. Nerds rule, naturally lol! Pity about Viv though 😦 She sounds a bit odd for the cute tone of the book overall. And Dallas for that matter.

    Like

  2. This sounds familiar though I know this wasn’t the book I read. The one I read had the girl coming up with schemes even most teens would think were lousy to get another guy jealous and she kept pushing away the nice guy though she was using him for her plot because he was cute looking. I found that I couldn’t make it through- guess I just don’t have the patience for the obviousness of the girl.

    But nice guy Dallas does sound worth it and it would be fun with her being a book blogger and on the cute side. 🙂

    Like

  3. I haven’t even read the book and already I’m feeling sad for Dallas because it seems like he really is a good guy. I’m always rooting for the good guys because personally they are the ones I would choose and they’re always so loyal and caring ❤ I also really like the idea of the main character being a book blogger as well. Already we have things in common, and I haven't even read the first page!

    Like

  4. Great review and Dallas sounds super cute! I don’t like the drama but this sounds like it has some good parts

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.