Waiting On Wednesday #19 Anna and the Swallow Man

bannerfans_16439895 (8)

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating. This week I’m waiting on Anna and the Swallow Man by Gavriel Savit. After reading the first chapter, I wanted more. There are so many books out there that highlight this time in the world’s history that I have yet to read, but I really want to add this one to my World War II historical books. Don’t forget to share with me what books you’re waiting on so I can check them out. Happy Wednesday!

22453727Title: Anna and the Swallow Man

Author: Gavriel Savit

Publisher: Knopf BYR

Pub Date: January 26th 2016

A stunning, literary, and wholly original debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War perfect for readers of The Book Thief.

Kraków, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up. Anna Łania is just seven years old when the Germans take her father, a linguistics professor, during their purge of intellectuals in Poland. She’s alone.

And then Anna meets the Swallow Man. He is a mystery, strange and tall, a skilled deceiver with more than a little magic up his sleeve. And when the soldiers in the streets look at him, they see what he wants them to see.

The Swallow Man is not Anna’s father—she knows that very well—but she also knows that, like her father, he’s in danger of being taken, and like her father, he has a gift for languages: Polish, Russian, German, Yiddish, even Bird. When he summons a bright, beautiful swallow down to his hand to stop her from crying, Anna is entranced. She follows him into the wilderness.

Over the course of their travels together, Anna and the Swallow Man will dodge bombs, tame soldiers, and even, despite their better judgment, make a friend. But in a world gone mad, everything can prove dangerous. Even the Swallow Man.

Destined to become a classic, Gavriel Savit’s stunning debut reveals life’s hardest lessons while celebrating its miraculous possibilities.

 

Advertisements

34 thoughts on “Waiting On Wednesday #19 Anna and the Swallow Man

  1. This sounds like an amazing, amazing book! Thanks for putting this on my radar! I love WWII historical fiction, but I don’t think I’ve ever read anything set in Poland. I’ll have to put this one on my wishlist because it sounds like the relationship between Anna and the Swallow Man is going to be a heartwarming one.

    Like

  2. I have been seeing this one around quite a lot! You know me – I’ve been all about the book and movie of the Book Thief an awful lot lately, so this comparison has me definitely interested in this one. I also really like historical fiction as well. There’s so much to learn from it.

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s