Opal by Jennifer L. Armentrout #LUXreadalong

13362536Published: December 11th 2012 By: Entangled Teen

Genres: Young-Adult, Science-Fiction, Supernatural, Romance

Series Reviews: ObsidianOnyx

Format: ebook

 Source: Library 

My Rating: 4 Stars

Find It: Goodreads | Amazon |

 Barnes & Noble

After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different… And I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable of. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our worlds forever.

Together we’re stronger… and they know it.

 

 

REVIEW

There will be a big spoiler in this review if you haven’t read the previous book. It’s really unavoidable, as I just have to mention this character.

Opal picks up where Onyx ended. There is really no time to breathe, and everyone is grieving and getting hot tempered. It’s really slow in the beginning and I had to put it down for a day or two before picking it up again. Katy didn’t annoy me as much in this one, so that’s a good thing. And Daemon is still just as snarky as ever, but he’s also sweet. I swear to God that I was planning to give this 4.5 – 5 stars, but that ending. WTH?!! I swear that I wanted to go find the author and demand that she rewrite it, but then I forgot that Origin is already out. LOL!

Dawson freaked me out. Seriously, he was creeping around and it was just so….. just no. And his need to rescue Beth is understandable. Everyone knows that, but they want to plan and Dawson just wants to rush in and suffer the consequences. However, it really doesn’t matter because they all put their trust in the wrong person. I swear, that irritated me to no end. I understand the need for some action and suspense, but to make these characters look dumb when they’re supposed to be otherwise, is just wrong. 

Daemon and Katy grow a lot in this book. I love how their relationship is moving along, and the sweet little scenes we get from them… swoon! I’m not sure that I would be into this series if Daemon wasn’t so great of a character. It’s hard not to love his quick wit and snarky comebacks. Add in his looks, and we just never stood a chance. He is still pretty much the one in control here, and it was really hard reading this one after all that happened in the last book. He couldn’t properly bond with his brother and grieve for Adam. There was just too much stacked against everyone. And Dee…. I really felt for her. She was so angry though, and it was hard for me to see her ignoring Katy. 

I think that it’s safe to say this is my favorite in the series, so far. I like book one about the same, but the previous book took a step back. This is not the best series out there, but it is very addicting and the action is always on point. Recommended!

stars-4

24 thoughts on “Opal by Jennifer L. Armentrout #LUXreadalong

  1. GIRL! This is also the same reason I was SO grateful that this series was almost complete before I even considered picking it up because let’s be for realz here, that ending SUCKED! It was the worst cliffhanger of ALL THE CLIFFHANGERS so I was glad to be able to get into it right after. I never found a slow moment in it (well, expect for some parts) but that is to be expected since this one doesn’t have a ton of action in it. I think Katy is my fav heroine so far. And Daemon, of COURSE he is like the first or second on my book boos 😉 Awesome review as always Keisha! xoxoxo

    Like

  2. Didn’t read the whole review to avoid spoilers, but I saw the rating and read your conclusion and it seems like you were able to enjoy this book in the series a lot more and it’s starting to work out well for you again because I don’t think you were too keen on the previous book. Glad the series is looking up!

    Like

  3. I got grumbly over that shocking ending and cliffhanger, too, but you were smart to wait until they were all out so you don’t have to wait if you don’t want. LOL!

    Yes, this one sets things up for some amazing reveals in the next book.

    If you have time, the adult standalone, Obsession, is a parallel story to Origin and gives good insight from a different angle into the Lux series.

    Like

  4. I never read past book 2 in this series. Anyways, JLA is one of those authors that just doesn’t work for me despite being so well-loved in the book community. I’ve tried all of her books, but they mostly just disappoint me. Anyways, I’m glad that Katy annoyed you less in this one and that the romance is going well for you. I remember her cliffhangers being painful! Good thing you’re binge-reading this series. 🙂
    Lovely review, Lekeisha!

    Like

    • After I read the first book, I couldn’t understand why everyone is crazy over this series. Then, I thought that maybe it’s Daemon, because I really love his character. It’s easy to read and fun, but that’s about it. Nothing complex about it, which I can see why most appreciate it. I’m having fun reading it, but I can’t say that it’s one of my favorites.

      Like

  5. Great review! I’ve had these books forever but I’ve yet to actually start reading it… Maybe that’ll be a goal for 2016 🙂

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.