The Song of David by Amy Harmon

25361480Published June 13th 2015 by Amy Harmon

Reviewed In Series The Law of Moses

New-Adult, Romance, Contemporary, Paranormal

Purchased Kindle Book

My rating 5 stars

Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository

This is David ‘Tag’ Taggert’s book, a supporting character introduced in The Law of Moses. This is a stand-alone story, but it is highly recommended that The Law of Moses be read first to avoid spoilers.

She said I was like a song. Her favorite song. A song isn’t something you can see. It’s something you feel, something you move to, something that disappears after the last note is played.

I won my first fight when I was eleven years old, and I’ve been throwing punches ever since. Fighting is the purest, truest, most elemental thing there is. Some people describe heaven as a sea of unending white. Where choirs sing and loved ones await. But for me, heaven was something else. It sounded like the bell at the beginning of a round, it tasted like adrenaline, it burned like sweat in my eyes and fire in my belly. It looked like the blur of screaming crowds and an opponent who wanted my blood.

For me, heaven was the octagon.

Until I met Millie, and heaven became something different. I became something different. I knew I loved her when I watched her stand perfectly still in the middle of a crowded room, people swarming, buzzing, slipping around her, her straight dancer’s posture unyielding, her chin high, her hands loose at her sides. No one seemed to see her at all, except for the few who squeezed past her, tossing exasperated looks at her unsmiling face. When they realized she wasn’t normal, they hurried away. Why was it that no one saw her, yet she was the first thing I saw?

If heaven was the octagon, then she was my angel at the center of it all, the girl with the power to take me down and lift me up again. The girl I wanted to fight for, the girl I wanted to claim. The girl who taught me that sometimes the biggest heroes go unsung and the most important battles are the ones we don’t think we can win.


Me and Tag have two things in common that we despise- Bullies & Bi***es. I just thought I’d put that out there. LOL!

My Jumbled Thoughts If you read the synopsis, then I don’t have to say more. Saying more would be a major spoiler. Once again, Amy Harmon has me speechless. I thought that I loved The Law of Moses, but this book broke me. I’m not sure if I can take much more of this from her, but I will try. She ripped my heart into tiny bits, but made sure to piece it back together by the end. I will say this, that epilogue was a Godsend for me. Why? Because to actually think of when that moment happened for my BFF Tag, it would break me. So, I finished this book with my own picture in my mind about the outcome. Don’t judge me, my heart is only so strong.

15162323._SY540_Again, you can’t reveal anything about this book. If you’ve read The Law of Moses, then I definitely won’t spoil this for you. To say I devoured this book would be an understatement. And this book could be read as a standalone. It could, but you shouldn’t read it that way. Read The Law of Moses first, then you can feel the bonds that these characters share and thrive off of it. It will make you happy and sad, I won’t lie. This story is intricately tied to Moses, so don’t think that you will have a clue by diving into this without giving him a go. He is the center of it all. Yet, this book is about Tag. You remember me talking about my BFF in my review of the first book?. Well, I’ve decided to marry him and have little Tag babies and live happily ever after. There’s something to be said about a man laying his heart at your feet. It was so liberating and sexy and scary and heartbreaking, all at once!!

This story is narrated by Tag – through a series of cassette tapes, and Moses. You’ve never experienced a bromance like this before. Trust me. It is strong and unbreakable, and I’m so glad that I came across the first book. Georgia is there in the background, along with the Tag Team crew, Millie and Henry. There is MMA/UFC fighting in this book, but it’s not heavy. There’s just a little commentary here and there. Okay, I’m done. READ THE BOOK! No, scratch that. Make sure you read The Law of Moses and then READ THIS BOOK!

*That photo is courtesy of Author Penny Reid. When I saw it in her review on Goodreads, I fell in love. That’s exactly how I see Tag and Millie.*

reviewstars5of5

10 thoughts on “The Song of David by Amy Harmon

  1. Didn’t the first book went on sale just recently? I honestly almost bought it because I remember how much you loved it. Knowing now that the sequel is good too, I’ll look it up. I hope it’s still on sale!

    Like

  2. I haven’t read The Law of Moses but it is one on my TBR that I can’t WAIT to try seeing as I have heard nothing but wonderful things about it. It seems like this book was incredibly well written and interesting, which makes me happy. And a very good following up novel as well.

    Like

  3. Ok! This story sounds awesome! I’m going to read The Law of Moses and then this book! Tag sounds swoon worthy with how he lays his heart at her feet and has you wanting to marry him and make little Tag babies! We can never have too many book boyfriends 🙂 You make me want to read this so badly! I’mm off to one-click this for my kindle 🙂 Thanks Lekeisha!

    Like

I love comments, and try to reply as often as I can. Know that I read each and every one.

